Sit. Stay. License. by June 30

This summer’s must-have accessory for dogs can be found at a town clerk’s office near you—that’s right, it’s time to renew or get a license for your pooch!

June is Dog Licensing Month in Connecticut. State law requires all dogs to be licensed in their municipality each year between June 1 and June 30, as old licenses expire on June 30—and we all know that nobody, canine or human, wants to be out and about with an expired license! The license tags’ color changes each year, which allows animal control officers to easily spot furry offenders.

First, you’ll want to make sure your dog is up to date on his or her rabies vaccination and that you have proof to back it up (available from the veterinarian who administered the vaccine). A canine must be vaccinated for rabies to get a license.

After that, licensing man’s best friend only requires a short application with your information and a few basics about your pet, a copy of the dog’s rabies shot certificate, and the fee. This is another time when it pays to have had your pet spayed or neutered: It’s only $8 to license a canine who’s fixed, while it’s $19 for an unaltered male or female. To receive the discount for having an altered pet, a spay/neuter certificate must also be provided.

The documents and fee can be brought in person to your town or city clerk’s office or mailed. Be sure to check the hours when your town or city clerk grants licenses; it may only be at a certain time of the day.

You’ll then get that sought-after accessory—the new licensing tag—for your pooch to display on a collar. And when you clip that new tag on his collar, please remember the next step: Place the collar around his neck. (If only CHS pets had a dime for everyone who said they have the collar and tag at home!)

While licensing a dog is the law, it also brings perks for your pooch and for you. The biggest benefit a tag brings is connecting owners with their lost pets. Since the ID number on a pet’s tag is associated with his or her family, owners can be easily contacted when a runaway Rover is picked up by an animal control officer.

As the 4th of July fireworks season approaches, a licensing tag on your dog’s collar can be the key to reuniting with you with your pooch if he becomes frightened and runs off.

A dog license is also an easy way to spot if a canine has been vaccinated against rabies, a disease which is fatal for dogs and very serious for humans, if contracted.

If your dog is driving his legs around town without an up-to-date license, you can be fined. If he runs through a construction zone, expect the fine to double! (Just kidding.) Additionally, there is a $1 late fee for each month a dog is not licensed after June 30.

Helping your dog by getting a license also helps pets in need. The dog licensing program helps fund the state’s Animal Population Control Program, which provides vaccination and spay/neuter benefits to animals at town and city shelters, pets belonging to families in need, and feral cats.

So don’t let your dog be the only one at the dog park this summer without a cool new tag. Visit this link and scroll to the bottom of the page for more information on the dog licensing requirement.

Sit. Stay. License. by June 30

Connecticut Humane Society

701 Russell Road, Newington, CT 06111
800-452-0114 | FAX 860-665-1478 | info@cthumane.org
Copyright 2013 Connecticut Humane Society

Copyright 2013 Connecticut Humane Society